50 First Dates Movie Poster

I think this image will be my next Christmas card.

Making this movie poster was pretty fun and took more time than I realized! I took this photo in my living room with two synced speed lights, a Rogue XL, my DSLR Canon T6 camera, and a golden reflector. the only thing that we had for a prop in the shot was my Luna rosewood guitar, and everything else was digital (and I am no stranger to photoshop). I masked a few images together and tried to mimic lighting sources while also moving and finding objects that had a similar light source to have it feel more natural. All of the images I used were free to use, with the creative commons license.

My husband and I were two separate images since we had limited space. The editing was done in Photoshop and the text was done in Indesign.

My favorite part was seeing all of this come together along with making the soda see-through in the basket since the original image was taken with the soda in the jean pocket. I liked cropping the glass part out after making a duplicate, erasing the one behind it, and keep the cropped one with the selection of “overlay.” Finding the right images was very tedious and my least favorite but I’m glad it all worked out in the end!

 

For the fonts, I used:

  • Interface Regular and Interface Xbold (for the names on the top of the poster, “First” and “Dates,” and for the website on the bottom of the poster)
  • Futura PT Medium (for the centered text below the names)
  • PTIImprovNewWideNine (for the “50”)
  • SF Movie Poster Condensed Regular (Production information under the movie title)

Here are the photos used to create this piece:

 

Try making a movie poster of your own with some friends or some family! It would be great fun.

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑